Road To Passing My Direct Access | Street Triple Rider

I’ve always had a passion for motorcycles, whether it be watching the racing or riding them myself. My dream job when I was younger was to become a Police Motorcyclist – unfortunately this never came to fruition.

I rode a moped from the age of 16. It was a W Reg Piaggio NRG Extreme 50cc, and it gave me the freedom to go where ever I wanted/needed.

piaggio-nrg-extreme-09

Naturally, being a 16 year old wannabe racer, I started tuning the little Piaggio, with racing rollers, exhaust and air filter and finally de-restricting it… getting a whopping 70mph top end!

I rode the Piaggio for a couple of years, before passing my driving test.

Some 15+ years later, I decided I wanted to get back on two wheels. I booked in for my CBT (Compulsory Basic Training) with Riverview Rider Training in Hesketh Bank. I had loads of fun riding round on the 125cc Yamaha YBR.

Instantly I got the bug – now I wanted to put in for the Big Bike test! These days, the Direct Access or DAS, is made up of 3 parts in addition to your CBT.

  1. Motorcycle Theory Test inc Hazard Perception
  2. Module 1 (MOD1) -The test normally takes about 20 minutes and includes:
    • wheeling the moped or motorcycle and using the stand
    • riding a slalom and figure of 8
    • a slow ride
    • a U-turn
    • cornering and a controlled stop
    • cornering and an emergency stop
    • cornering and hazard avoidance

    For the hazard avoidance and emergency stop exercises you must ride at a minimum speed of:

    1. 19 mph on a moped
    2. 31 mph on a motorcycleMMA left circuit
  3. MODULE 2 (MOD2) – This is the road base test, like a driving test, that lasts around 45mins. You are followed by the examiner, while being instructed via radio.

I passed my DAS in June 2016. I haven’t looked back since!

My first big bike was a 1995 M Reg Kawasaki ZZR600. In my opinion, these are an ideal starter bike. Cheap to buy – comfortable to ride – and with the twincam 600cc engine, very fun!

20160719_20121020160807_122342

I owned the ZZR for 3months, having some fun over the summer months, before committing to my current ride in August 2016.

A Triumph Street Triple, 2007 model in Roulette Green. 675cc triple engine, very pokey with low-down torque, sounds amazing and very fun!

20160918_09522520170226_113944

Watch out for another Blog post – A detailed look into my bike!

Please head over to my Youtube channel, where you can share my experiences on the bike!

Street Triple Rider – Youtube Channel

Leave a Reply

